CRI Genetics Avis 2020

Notre score:
7
Score utilisateur:
7

Avis d'expert :

Les services de test ADN de CRI Genetics sont très similaires à ceux proposés par certains des « grands noms » de l'industrie dans les domaines de l'ascendance et de la santé. Cette entreprise met un point d'honneur à tester près de 650 000 marqueurs de votre génome, ce qui garantit probablement une plus grande précision, mais est-ce suffisant pour justifier ses prix ?
Rédigé par Joseph Levy
Dernière mise à jour le 4 avril 2020
AVANTAGES
  • Précision de plus de 90% dans votre rapport final
  • Le laboratoire examine près de 650 000 marqueurs de votre génome
  • Explorez vos lignées paternelles et maternelles
  • Garantie satisfait ou remboursé si vous ne recevez pas vos résultats sous huit semaines
  • Analyse d'ADN pour une vingtaine de facteurs associés à la santé
INCONVÉNIENTS
  • Non disponible partout
  • Les résultats des tests de perte de poids pourraient être plus étoffés
  • Les rapports de santé ne sont pas aussi exhaustifs que ceux de certains autres fournisseurs
  • Ascendance
  • Diet & Nutrition
Écrit par Joseph Levy le 4 avril 2020
  • Ascendance
  • Diet & Nutrition

Plus qu’un simple dépistage médical

Análisis de CRI Genetics

Bien que le fournisseur CRI Genetics affirme que l’analyse génétique est le futur de la médecine (ce que mentionne également son site), il offre bien plus qu’un simple dépistage médical. En effet, il fournit une répartition détaillée de vos origines ethniques et de votre ascendance génétique, ainsi que des rapports sur les traits génétiques généraux susceptibles d’affecter vos objectifs en matière d’alimentation et de forme physique.

CRI Genetics affirme que son laboratoire offre des rapports très précis grâce à l’analyse de près de 650 000 marqueurs génétiques. Toutefois, je me demande si cela justifie les prix élevés de ses tests, et s’il vaut mieux opter pour un autre test d’ADN comme ceux de MyHeritageDNA ou 23andMe.

Déroulement du/des test(s)

Tout test de CRI Genetics passe par un processus simple en trois étapes qui consistent à commander le test (que vous recevrez sous cinq jours), effectuer un prélèvement à l’intérieur de la joue et renvoyer l’échantillon (dans un emballage prépayé). Vous recevrez vos résultats six à huit semaines plus tard.

Análisis de CRI Genetics

Contrairement à la plupart des entreprises de tests ADN, la garantie huit semaines de celle-ci garantit un remboursement intégral si vos résultats ne sont pas prêts dans les huit semaines suivant l’envoi de votre échantillon. À noter que la plupart des résultats sont disponibles sous quatre semaines.

Voir les offres de CRI Genetics

Évaluation détaillée du test d’ascendance proposé

Le rapport d’ascendance fournit une répartition détaillée de vos origines ethniques (en pourcentages), un rapport chronologique d’ascendance (qui remonte à plus de 50 générations) et des rapports d’ascendance paternelle/maternelle biogéographique (basés sur l’ADN-Y et l’ADNmt, respectivement) :

Análisis de CRI Genetics

L’ADN-Y est l’ADN contenu dans le chromosome Y et se transmet uniquement de père en fils ; il permet de remonter la lignée paternelle. L’ADNmt est l’ADN mitochondrial transmis par la mère aux enfants des deux sexes ; il permet de remonter la lignée maternelle. À noter que ces types d’ADN ne sont pas analysés par toutes les entreprises d’ascendance.

Les résultats d’ascendance sont présentés dans un format convivial et interactif avec des cartes et une mise en contexte historique pour ajouter une touche ludique :

Análisis de CRI Genetics

Si vous souhaitez vous amuser encore un peu, CRI Genetics vous révèlera des personnages célèbres susceptibles d’appartenir à votre famille du côté de votre mère ou de votre père. Qui sait, vous êtes peut-être un descendant de Nicolas Copernic !

Análisis de CRI Genetics

Trop sérieux ? Alors que diriez-vous de faire partie de la famille d’Elvis Presley ou de Lady Di ?

Fonctionnalités à valeur ajoutée :

  • Répartition détaillée de votre ethnicité
  • Analyse de l’ADN-Y et de l’ADNmt pour remonter vos lignées familiales paternelles et maternelles
  • Résultats présentés dans un format convivial avec des cartes et graphiques interactifs
  • Mise en contexte historique associée aux cultures, colonies et migrations
  • Informations amusantes sur des parents potentiels célèbres

Voir les offres de CRI Genetics

Tests similaires à envisager :

  • 23andMe analyse également l’ADNmt et l’ADN-Y, ce qui n’est pas le cas de toutes les entreprises. Les répartitions ethniques sont plus précises car l’entreprise divise le monde en 1 500 régions. En outre, sa base de données ADN contient la bagatelle de cinq millions d’archives, pour trouver d’éventuels parents ayant également effectué un test ADN.
  • AncestryDNA compte plus de 15 millions de tests ADN dans sa base de données, soit l’une des plus étendues du marché. L’entreprise fournit également une répartition ethnique précise en pourcentages sur plus de 1 000 régions du monde entier.

Des prix trop élevés compte tenu de l’offre ?

Le prix du test d’ascendance de CRI Genetics est comparable aux produits similaires des « grands noms » concurrents tels que 23andMe et AncestryDNA. Toutefois, en comparaison avec les rapports plus nuancés et détaillés de ces fournisseurs, CRI semble relativement cher. Le service d’ascendance de MyHeritage coûte environ la moitié du test équivalent de CRI Genetics.

La même chose s’applique à certains autres tests, et vous n’aurez pas à chercher loin pour trouver une offre plus intéressante pour un test ADN et un rapport de perte de poids. En matière de tests de santé, celui de 23etMe coûte à peu près la même chose que celui de CRI, mais il est plus complet et approuvé par la FDA. Orig3n propose une myriade de tests différents à des tarifs plus intéressants, ce qui pourrait être une bonne option si vous cherchez à répondre à des questions spécifiques.

Si vous êtes disposé à payer les prix des tests de CRI Genetics, vous pouvez le faire via Visa, les autres cartes de crédit ou PayPal. À noter que le prix n’inclut pas les frais d’envoi. Gardez à l’esprit que l’entreprise garantit un remboursement intégral si vous n’obtenez pas vos résultats sous huit semaines.

Enfin, le fournisseur n’applique pas de frais d’abonnement récurrents.



Ascendance
Ancestry
  • Découvrez l’histoire de vos ancêtres à travers l’évolution humaine et les différentes migrations
  • 842 842 marqueurs ADN sont testés pour une précision optimale
  • Obtenez des informations détaillées sur la répartition des ethnies africaines, asiatiques et européennes

Des ressources d’auto-assistance satisfaisantes et un chat en direct utile

CRI Genetics propose un blog informatif régulièrement mis à jour et un ensemble acceptable (mais pas exceptionnel) de questions fréquemment posées, classées en trois catégories : Général, Ascendance et Santé et bien-être :

Análisis de CRI Genetics

Si ces ressources ne répondent pas à toutes vos questions, vous pouvez contacter l’entreprise par e-mail, courrier postal, téléphone ou chat en direct. J’ai apprécié ma discussion particulièrement fructueuse avec un agent du chat en direct :

Análisis de CRI Genetics

Voir les offres de CRI Genetics

Vaut la peine d’être envisagé, mais vous trouverez moins cher ailleurs

CRI Genetics présente de nombreux avantages, mais de nombreux concurrents offrent des services d’ascendance très similaires susceptibles d’être plus intéressants, moins chers, ou les deux. Citons notamment 23andMe, MyHeritage et AncestryDNA.

Même chose côté santé : les tests ADN d’alimentation et de forme physique de Vitagene et Orig3n peuvent vous offrir un meilleur rapport qualité/prix.

Cela ne veut pas dire que CRI Genetics est un fournisseur de mauvaise qualité. En effet, il est réputé pour analyser plus de marqueurs génétiques que la plupart des autres entreprises. Cela pourrait également être une bonne option si vous recherchez un vaste éventail d’informations dans deux catégories différentes, par exemple Ascendance + santé ou Perte de poids + allergies.

Voir les offres de CRI Genetics

Plus qu’un simple dépistage médical

Análisis de CRI Genetics

Bien que le fournisseur CRI Genetics affirme que l’analyse génétique est le futur de la médecine (ce que mentionne également son site), il offre bien plus qu’un simple dépistage médical. En effet, il fournit une répartition détaillée de vos origines ethniques et de votre ascendance génétique, ainsi que des rapports sur les traits génétiques généraux susceptibles d’affecter vos objectifs en matière d’alimentation et de forme physique.

CRI Genetics affirme que son laboratoire offre des rapports très précis grâce à l’analyse de près de 650 000 marqueurs génétiques. Toutefois, je me demande si cela justifie les prix élevés de ses tests, et s’il vaut mieux opter pour un autre test d’ADN comme ceux de MyHeritageDNA ou 23andMe.

Déroulement du/des test(s)

Tout test de CRI Genetics passe par un processus simple en trois étapes qui consistent à commander le test (que vous recevrez sous cinq jours), effectuer un prélèvement à l’intérieur de la joue et renvoyer l’échantillon (dans un emballage prépayé). Vous recevrez vos résultats six à huit semaines plus tard.

Análisis de CRI Genetics

Contrairement à la plupart des entreprises de tests ADN, la garantie huit semaines de celle-ci garantit un remboursement intégral si vos résultats ne sont pas prêts dans les huit semaines suivant l’envoi de votre échantillon. À noter que la plupart des résultats sont disponibles sous quatre semaines.

Voir les offres de CRI Genetics

Évaluation détaillée des tests d’alimentation et de forme physique proposés

Il est important de souligner que les tests que nous qualifions de « tests d’alimentation et forme physique » chez DNAWeekly sont classés comme « tests de santé » chez CRI Genetics. Vous les trouverez donc dans la rubrique Santé sur son site Web.

Étant donné que l’ADN de chaque personne est unique, il n’existe pas de régime unique adapté à tous. Par conséquent, un aperçu de ce que vos gènes révèlent sur votre nutrition idéale peut être très précieux, en particulier si vous souhaitez atteindre certains objectifs en matière de poids et forme physique.

Le test Ascendance + santé

Comme son nom l’indique, le test Ascendance + santé inclut toutes les informations d’ascendance susmentionnées, ainsi que des informations associées à la santé (selon l’entreprise). Il n’est pas possible d’acheter le test de santé seul, uniquement en association avec les tests d’ascendance ou d’allergies (nous y reviendrons ci-dessous).

Au plus haut niveau, vous obtenez une indication semblable à un tableau de bord de votre état de santé probable en fonction de votre ADN. Ces informations sont complétées par un programme d’alimentation ADN personnalisé.

Análisis de CRI Genetics

Votre rapport Santé et bien-être vous révèlera des informations sur la réaction probable de votre organisme à certaines substances, par exemple la caféine. Il comprend également des informations utiles sur vos niveaux probables d’hormones, y compris la testostérone. Votre rapport Nutrition indique les besoins potentiels de votre organisme pour certains nutriments (tels que le fer) et ses intolérances potentielles (par exemple au lactose).

Análisis de RI Genetics

Afin de le considérer comme un vrai rapport de « santé », il devrait également inclure vos dispositions génétiques à certaines maladies et vos statuts de porteur pour les maladies congénitales que vous êtes susceptible de transmettre à vos enfants.

Fonctionnalités à valeur ajoutée :

  • Inclut le rapport d’ascendance
  • Les rapports Santé et bien-être incluent les niveaux d’hormones probables, le métabolisme des substances et les habitudes de sommeil
  • Les rapports Nutrition incluent votre capacité génétique à absorber différentes vitamines, toute carence éventuelle en nutriments et les intolérances alimentaires potentielles
  • Un programme d’alimentation basé sur votre ADN
  • Près de 650 000 marqueurs génétiques analysés

Tests similaires à envisager

  • 23andMepropose un test Santé + ascendance similaire. Il analyse également vos prédispositions à plusieurs maladies génétiques, votre statut de porteur pour plusieurs maladies congénitales et de nombreux traits de bien-être couverts par CRI Genetics.
  • Vitagene propose plusieurs forfaits santé et ascendance qui fournissent un rapport ethnique de profondeur similaire, ainsi que des recommandations personnalisées en fonction de votre ADN en matière d’alimentation et d’activité physique.

Le test d’allergies

À l’instar du test de santé, le test d’allergies n’est pas commercialisé seul. Vous pouvez l’ajouter au test de santé (soit le forfait Allergie + santé) ou au test de perte de poids (soit le forfaitPerte de poids + allergies. Nous y reviendrons par la suite.

Les informations complémentaires sur les allergies vous indiquent si vous courrez un risque faible, moyen ou élevé de réaction aux allergènes courants présents dans les pollens et les aliments, ainsi que chez les animaux :

Análisis de CRI Genetics

Fonctionnalités à valeur ajoutée :

  • Comprend le rapport de santé ou le rapport de perte de poids (voir ci-dessous)
  • Vous indique les allergènes courants que vous devriez éventuellement éviter
  • Vous permet de connaître vos niveaux de sensibilité faibles, modérés et élevés

Tests similaires à envisager

  • DNAfit teste les intolérances alimentaires, mais pas les allergies (qu’il considère comme différentes).
  • HomeDNA propose un test ADN de sensibilité aux aliments et aux animaux, mais fait également la distinction entre sensibilités et allergies. Le vendeur recommande d’opter pour un diagnostic professionnel si vous pensez que vous souffrez d’une allergie courante.

Le test de perte de poids

Le test de perte de poids FatSwitch peut être acheté seul (proposé sous le nom de Perte de poids) ou associé au test d’allergies (soit le forfait Perte de poids + allergies).

Le rapport de ce test fournit un programme de perte de poids basé sur votre ADN. Il identifie les meilleurs nutriments pour votre organisme en tenant compte de vos objectifs de perte de poids. Il comprend également des programmes nutritionnels ainsi que des rapports sur l’activité physique et l’indice de masse corporelle (IMC) pour vous aider à rester sur la bonne voie.

Análisis de CRI Genetics

Fonctionnalités à valeur ajoutée :

  • Programme de perte de poids personnalisé en fonction de l’ADN
  • Idées de repas et suggestions de nutriments
  • Rapports d’activité physique et d’IMC pour vous aider à rester sur la bonne voie

Tests similaires à envisager

  • Athletigen n’est peut-être pas le fournisseur le plus connu, mais il propose des résultats détaillés, personnalisés et complets de tests d’alimentation et forme physique à un prix compétitif.
  • Orig3n propose une telle variété de produits pour vos besoins en matière d’alimentation et de forme physique que vous êtes pratiquement certain de trouver le rapport et test qui vous convient.

Des prix trop élevés compte tenu de l’offre ?

Le prix du test d’ascendance de CRI Genetics est comparable aux produits similaires des « grands noms » concurrents tels que 23andMe et AncestryDNA. Toutefois, en comparaison avec les rapports plus nuancés et détaillés de ces fournisseurs, CRI semble relativement cher. Le service d’ascendance de MyHeritage coûte environ la moitié du test équivalent de CRI Genetics.

La même chose s’applique à certains autres tests, et vous n’aurez pas à chercher loin pour trouver une offre plus intéressante pour un test ADN et un rapport de perte de poids. En matière de tests de santé, celui de 23etMe coûte à peu près la même chose que celui de CRI, mais il est plus complet et approuvé par la FDA. Orig3n propose une myriade de tests différents à des tarifs plus intéressants, ce qui pourrait être une bonne option si vous cherchez à répondre à des questions spécifiques.

Si vous êtes disposé à payer les prix des tests de CRI Genetics, vous pouvez le faire via Visa, les autres cartes de crédit ou PayPal. À noter que le prix n’inclut pas les frais d’envoi. Gardez à l’esprit que l’entreprise garantit un remboursement intégral si vous n’obtenez pas vos résultats sous huit semaines.

Enfin, le fournisseur n’applique pas de frais d’abonnement récurrents.



Ascendance
Ancestry
  • Découvrez l’histoire de vos ancêtres à travers l’évolution humaine et les différentes migrations
  • 842 842 marqueurs ADN sont testés pour une précision optimale
  • Obtenez des informations détaillées sur la répartition des ethnies africaines, asiatiques et européennes

Des ressources d’auto-assistance satisfaisantes et un chat en direct utile

CRI Genetics propose un blog informatif régulièrement mis à jour et un ensemble acceptable (mais pas exceptionnel) de questions fréquemment posées, classées en trois catégories : Général, Ascendance et Santé et bien-être :

Análisis de CRI Genetics

Si ces ressources ne répondent pas à toutes vos questions, vous pouvez contacter l’entreprise par e-mail, courrier postal, téléphone ou chat en direct. J’ai apprécié ma discussion particulièrement fructueuse avec un agent du chat en direct :

Análisis de CRI Genetics

Voir les offres de CRI Genetics

Vaut la peine d’être envisagé, mais vous trouverez moins cher ailleurs

CRI Genetics présente de nombreux avantages, mais de nombreux concurrents offrent des services d’ascendance très similaires susceptibles d’être plus intéressants, moins chers, ou les deux. Citons notamment 23andMe, MyHeritage et AncestryDNA.

Même chose côté santé : les tests ADN d’alimentation et de forme physique de Vitagene et Orig3n peuvent vous offrir un meilleur rapport qualité/prix.

Cela ne veut pas dire que CRI Genetics est un fournisseur de mauvaise qualité. En effet, il est réputé pour analyser plus de marqueurs génétiques que la plupart des autres entreprises. Cela pourrait également être une bonne option si vous recherchez un vaste éventail d’informations dans deux catégories différentes, par exemple Ascendance + santé ou Perte de poids + allergies.

Voir les offres de CRI Genetics

Joseph Levy
Joseph Levy
Auteur
Originaire de New York, Joseph Levy vit actuellement à Chypre. Après avoir obtenu son diplôme en droit et acquis huit années d’expérience dans le domaine civil du droit américain, il s’est établi en Méditerranée pour se consacrer à son premier amour : la rédaction de contenu. Joseph accorde la priorité à l’intégrité et l’exactitude des informations, et apporte une perspective informative et intéressante à tous ses écrits.

Les personnes intéressées ont également lu

Donnez votre avis sur CRI Genetics

Engagement de totale transparence: nous sommes fiers d’avoir développé l’un des seuls sites comparatifs où les internautes peuvent rejoindre une communauté bienveillante afin de contribuer à un projet collectif. Tous sont invités à partager librement leur expérience personnelle avec des produits de test ADN et de recherche généalogique. Certains de nos articles comportent des liens hypertextes vers des produits d’un ou de plusieurs de nos partenaires. Une commission peut nous être versée lorsque nos internautes cliquent sur un de ces liens hypertextes.

CRI Genetics Review 2020: Worth The Cost?

Our score:
7
User score:
7

Expert opinion:

CRI Genetics’ DNA testing services are very similar to those offered by some of the industry’s “big name” providers in the areas of ancestry and health. This company makes a big point about testing nearly 650,000 markers across your genome, which arguably provides greater accuracy, but is this enough to justify its prices?
Written by Joseph Levy
Last updated on June 5, 2020
PROS
  • 90%+ accuracy in your final report
  • The lab looks at nearly 650,000 markers across your genome
  • Explore your paternal and maternal lineages
  • Money-back guarantee if results aren’t available within eight weeks
  • DNA analysis for nearly two dozen health-related factors
CONS
  • Not available everywhere
  • Weight Loss test results could be more comprehensive
  • Health reports aren’t as exhaustive as you’d get from other vendors
  • Ancestry
  • Diet & Nutrition
Written by Joseph Levy on June 5, 2020
  • Ancestry
  • Diet & Nutrition

More Than Merely Health Screening

CRI Genetics Review

While CRI Genetics states that genetic analysis is the future of medicine (and says as much on its website), it offers much more than merely health screening. It provides a detailed breakdown of your ethnic background and genetic ancestry in addition to reports regarding general genetic traits that could affect your diet and fitness goals.

CRI Genetics claims that its lab offers highly accurate reporting, as a result of analyzing nearly 650,000 genetic markers. However, I’m not sure whether this justifies the high costs of its tests, and if it is better to go with a different DNA test like MyHeritageDNA or 23andMe.

Taking the Test(s)

Any CRI Genetics test requires a simple three-step process of ordering the test (to be delivered within five days), swabbing your cheek and sending in the sample (in a prepaid package), and exploring your results six to eight weeks later.

CRI Genetics Review

Unlike most DNA testing companies, this one’s Eight Week Efficiency Guarantee promises to pay back your money if your results aren’t ready within eight weeks of sending in your sample. Most results are ready within four weeks.

See CRI Genetics Deals

Detailed Look at the Ancestry Test Offered

The ancestry report provides a detailed breakdown of your ethnicities (with percentages), an ancestry timeline report (which goes back over 50+ generations), and paternal/maternal biogeographical ancestry reports (based on your Y-DNA and mtDNA, respectively):

CRI Genetics Review

Your Y-DNA is the DNA contained within your Y chromosome (if you’re male) that only gets passed down from fathers to sons; it provides a way to trace your paternal lineage. Your mtDNA is the mitochondrial DNA that gets passed down to both males and females from their mothers; it provides a way to trace your maternal lineage. Not all ancestry companies test these types of DNA.

Your ancestry results are presented in a user-friendly, interactive format with maps and historical context to make exploration more fun:

CRI Genetics Review

If you’re up for even more fun, CRI Genetics will tell you all about the famous people you might be related to on your mother’s and father’s sides of the family. Who knows? You could be related to Nicolaus Copernicus!

CRI Genetics Review

If that’s not fun enough for you, how about finding out that you’re related to Elvis Presley or Princess Diana?

Value-Added Features:

  • A detailed breakdown of your ethnicity
  • Analysis of Y-DNA and mtDNA to trace your paternal and maternal family lines
  • Results presented in a user-friendly format with interactive maps and charts
  • Historical context regarding cultures, settlements, and migrations
  • Fun facts about famous potential relatives

See CRI Genetics Deals

Similar Test to Consider:

  • 23andMe will also test your mtDNA and Y-DNA, which not all companies do. Its ethnic breakdowns are more precise because it reports on 1,500+ distinct regions, and its DNA database contains an amazing five million records for possible relatives who have been tested.
  • AncestryDNA has more than 15 million DNA tests in its database, which makes it one of the largest around. It also breaks down your percentage ethnicities precisely into 1,000+ regions around the world.

Too-High Prices for Too Little Value?

The price of CRI Genetics’ ancestry test is comparable with similar products from “big name” competitors such as 23andMe and AncestryDNA. However, those vendors’ more nuanced and detailed reports make CRI look expensive. The ancestry service from MyHeritage costs about half what you would pay to CRI Genetics.

The same thing can be said for some of the other tests, and you won’t have to do much shopping around to find a better deal for a weight loss DNA test and report. In terms of health tests, the one from 23andMe costs about the same as CRI’s, but it’s more comprehensive and FDA-approved. Orig3n offers a bunch of different tests for less, which could be a good option if you’re looking to answer specific questions.

If you are willing to pay the prices for CRI Genetics’ tests, you can do so via Visa, other credit cards, or PayPal. Be aware that the advertised price doesn’t include shipping, which costs a few dollars extra. And remember, this company promises to refund your money if your results are not available within eight weeks.

There are no ongoing subscription fees.

Ancestry
Ancestry
  • Trace your ancestry throughout human evolution, migration history
  • Test checks 842,824 DNA markers for precision results
  • Get detailed breakdowns of African, Asian, European ancestry

Satisfactory Self-Support Resources and Good Live Chat

For self-support purposes, CRI Genetics provides a regularly-updated informative blog and an acceptable (but not exceptional) set of frequently asked questions arranged into three categories: General, Ancestry, and Health & Wellness:

CRI Genetics Review

If these resources don’t answer all your questions, you can contact the company via email, snail mail (regular post), telephone, or live chat. I enjoyed a particularly fruitful interaction with a live chat agent:

CRI Genetics Review

See CRI Genetics Deals

Worth a Look, but You’ll Find Better Bargains Elsewhere

There is a lot to be said for CRI Genetics, but there are lots of competitors offering very similar ancestry services that may be better, or cheaper, or both. I’m talking about companies like 23andMe, MyHeritage, and AncestryDNA.

It’s the same story in the health space, where diet and fitness DNA tests from Vitagene and Orig3n could give you more value for your money.

This is not to say there is anything bad about CRI Genetics, and it does have some good credentials when it comes to testing more genetic markers than many other companies. It could also be a good option if you are looking for a wide range of information in dual categories like Ancestry + Health or Weight Loss + Allergy.

See CRI Genetics Deals

FAQ

How accurate is CRI Genetics?

CRI Genetics promises 99.9% + accuracy in your final report. It’s a big claim, but CRI has the scientific pedigree, tech, and methodology to back it up. The lab will look at over 642,824 genetic markers across your genome before delivering your results.

How long does it take to receive test results from CRI Genetics?

CRI guarantees to deliver your genetic reports in fewer than 8 weeks. Those 8 weeks begin the day that the lab receives your DNA sample, provided your DNA passes quality analysis. If you don’t get your results within that time, CRI promises to refund your money.

How much does a CRI Genetics test cost? (Any discounts?)

CRI’s ancestry test comes at a price that’s comparable with similar products from some of the biggest names on the market, e.g., 23andMe and AncestryDNA. However, given that those vendors offer test results that are far more detailed and nuanced, it’s arguable that CRI’s product should be at least a little cheaper. The same holds true for CRI’s test for weight loss. The fact is that you don’t have to do much shopping around to find better deals.

What types of things can you learn from a CRI Genetics test?

CRI Genetics can provide insights on one’s ancestry, how their genes affect their overall health, e.g., allergies and nutrition (but not diseases and disorders), and how one’s DNA potentially influences weight loss.

Who should consider taking a CRI Genetics test?

CRI Genetics is good for someone looking to explore their ancestry, get insights about their health and wellness, or create a nutritional plan that’s best suited to their genetics, and doesn’t mind paying a little more for those services then the would with similar vendors.

More Than Merely Health Screening

CRI Genetics Review

While CRI Genetics states that genetic analysis is the future of medicine (and says as much on its website), it offers much more than merely health screening. It provides a detailed breakdown of your ethnic background and genetic ancestry in addition to reports regarding general genetic traits that could affect your diet and fitness goals.

CRI Genetics claims that its lab offers highly accurate reporting, as a result of analyzing nearly 650,000 genetic markers. However, I’m not sure whether this justifies the high costs of its tests, and if it is better to go with a different DNA test like MyHeritageDNA or 23andMe.

Taking the Test(s)

Any CRI Genetics test requires a simple three-step process of ordering the test (to be delivered within five days), swabbing your cheek and sending in the sample (in a prepaid package), and exploring your results six to eight weeks later.

CRI Genetics Review

Unlike most DNA testing companies, this one’s Eight Week Efficiency Guarantee promises to pay back your money if your results aren’t ready within eight weeks of sending in your sample. Most results are ready within four weeks.

See CRI Genetics Deals

Detailed Look at the Diet and Fitness Tests Offered

Note that what we classify as “diet and fitness” tests here at DNAWeekly, CRI Genetics categorizes as “health” tests, so you’ll find these under the Health heading on its website.

Since everyone’s DNA is unique, there’s no single diet that’s suitable for all. Having insight into what your genes indicate about your ideal nutrition can be very valuable, particularly when it comes to meeting your weight and fitness goals.

The Ancestry + Health Test

As its name suggests, the Ancestry + Health test includes all the aforementioned ancestry information, plus what this company deems to be health-related information. You can’t buy the Health test alone, only alongside Ancestry or Allergies tests (the latter of which is discussed next).

At the highest level, you get a dashboard-like indication of your likely health status, based on your DNA. This is complemented by a personalized DNA diet plan.

CRI Genetics Review

Digging deeper, your Health & Wellness report focuses on how your body is likely to metabolize substances, such as caffeine. It also includes some useful information about your likely levels of hormones, including testosterone. Your Nutrition report indicates your body’s possible needs for certain nutrients (such as iron) and its potential intolerances (to things like lactose).

CRI Genetics Review

To be truly a “health” report, it would also have to detail your genetic dispositions to certain diseases and your carrier statuses for congenital conditions that you could pass on to your children.

Value-Added Features:

  • Includes the Ancestry report
  • Health & Wellness reports include likely hormone levels, metabolism of substances, and sleep patterns
  • Nutrition reports include your genetic ability to absorb different vitamins, any nutrient deficiencies, and potential food intolerances
  • A recommended DNA diet plan
  • Nearly 650,000 genetic markers analyzed

Similar Tests to Consider

  • 23andMe offers a similar-sounding Health + Ancestry test. It also checks your predispositions to several genetic diseases, your carrier statuses for several congenital conditions, and many of the wellness traits covered by CRI Genetics.
  • Vitagene has a number of health and ancestry packages that provide an ethnic report of similar depth, plus personalized DNA-based recommendations regarding your diet and exercise.

The Allergy Test

Just as you can buy the Health test alongside the Ancestry test, you can also buy the Allergy test included with the Health test (as Allergy + Health) or the Weight Loss test (as Weight Loss + Allergy, discussed next). You cannot buy the Allergy test on its own.

The additional allergy information tells you if you are at low, medium, or high risk of reacting to common allergens found in pollens, animals, and foods:

CRI Genetics Review

Value-Added Features:

  • Includes the Health report or the Weight Loss report (discussed next)
  • Tells you which common allergens you may need to avoid
  • Lets you know your low, moderate, and high sensitivity levels

Similar Tests to Consider

  • DNAfit tests for food intolerances, but not allergies (which it regards as different).
  • HomeDNA offers a Food and Pet Sensitivity DNA Test, but it too distinguishes between sensitivities and allergies. The vendor recommends seeking a professional diagnosis if you think you could have an actual allergy.

The Weight Loss Test

The FatSwitch weight loss test can be bought alone (as Weight Loss) or alongside the allergy test (as Weight Loss + Allergy).

The report for this test provides you with a weight loss plan that’s driven by your DNA. It identifies the best nutrients for your body, and considering your weight loss objectives. It also includes meal plans plus exercise and body mass index (BMI) reports to help keep you on track.

CRI Genetics Review

Value-Added Features:

  • A DNA-driven customized weight loss plan
  • Meal ideas and nutrient suggestions
  • Exercise and BMI reports to keep you on track

Similar Tests to Consider

  • Athletigen might not be the most well-known vendor, but it offers in-depth, personalized, comprehensive diet and fitness test results at a competitive price.
  • Orig3n offers such a wide variety of products for your diet and fitness needs that you’re almost certain to find the right report and test for you.

Too-High Prices for Too Little Value?

The price of CRI Genetics’ ancestry test is comparable with similar products from “big name” competitors such as 23andMe and AncestryDNA. However, those vendors’ more nuanced and detailed reports make CRI look expensive. The ancestry service from MyHeritage costs about half what you would pay to CRI Genetics.

The same thing can be said for some of the other tests, and you won’t have to do much shopping around to find a better deal for a weight loss DNA test and report. In terms of health tests, the one from 23andMe costs about the same as CRI’s, but it’s more comprehensive and FDA-approved. Orig3n offers a bunch of different tests for less, which could be a good option if you’re looking to answer specific questions.

If you are willing to pay the prices for CRI Genetics’ tests, you can do so via Visa, other credit cards, or PayPal. Be aware that the advertised price doesn’t include shipping, which costs a few dollars extra. And remember, this company promises to refund your money if your results are not available within eight weeks.

There are no ongoing subscription fees.

Ancestry
Ancestry
  • Trace your ancestry throughout human evolution, migration history
  • Test checks 842,824 DNA markers for precision results
  • Get detailed breakdowns of African, Asian, European ancestry

Satisfactory Self-Support Resources and Good Live Chat

For self-support purposes, CRI Genetics provides a regularly-updated informative blog and an acceptable (but not exceptional) set of frequently asked questions arranged into three categories: General, Ancestry, and Health & Wellness:

CRI Genetics Review

If these resources don’t answer all your questions, you can contact the company via email, snail mail (regular post), telephone, or live chat. I enjoyed a particularly fruitful interaction with a live chat agent:

CRI Genetics Review

See CRI Genetics Deals

Worth a Look, but You’ll Find Better Bargains Elsewhere

There is a lot to be said for CRI Genetics, but there are lots of competitors offering very similar ancestry services that may be better, or cheaper, or both. I’m talking about companies like 23andMe, MyHeritage, and AncestryDNA.

It’s the same story in the health space, where diet and fitness DNA tests from Vitagene and Orig3n could give you more value for your money.

This is not to say there is anything bad about CRI Genetics, and it does have some good credentials when it comes to testing more genetic markers than many other companies. It could also be a good option if you are looking for a wide range of information in dual categories like Ancestry + Health or Weight Loss + Allergy.

See CRI Genetics Deals

FAQ

How accurate is CRI Genetics?

CRI Genetics promises 99.9% + accuracy in your final report. It’s a big claim, but CRI has the scientific pedigree, tech, and methodology to back it up. The lab will look at over 642,824 genetic markers across your genome before delivering your results.

How long does it take to receive test results from CRI Genetics?

CRI guarantees to deliver your genetic reports in fewer than 8 weeks. Those 8 weeks begin the day that the lab receives your DNA sample, provided your DNA passes quality analysis. If you don’t get your results within that time, CRI promises to refund your money.

How much does a CRI Genetics test cost? (Any discounts?)

CRI’s ancestry test comes at a price that’s comparable with similar products from some of the biggest names on the market, e.g., 23andMe and AncestryDNA. However, given that those vendors offer test results that are far more detailed and nuanced, it’s arguable that CRI’s product should be at least a little cheaper. The same holds true for CRI’s test for weight loss. The fact is that you don’t have to do much shopping around to find better deals.

What types of things can you learn from a CRI Genetics test?

CRI Genetics can provide insights on one’s ancestry, how their genes affect their overall health, e.g., allergies and nutrition (but not diseases and disorders), and how one’s DNA potentially influences weight loss.

Who should consider taking a CRI Genetics test?

CRI Genetics is good for someone looking to explore their ancestry, get insights about their health and wellness, or create a nutritional plan that’s best suited to their genetics, and doesn’t mind paying a little more for those services then the would with similar vendors.

Joseph Levy
Joseph Levy
Writer
Joseph Levy is a transplant from New York and currently living in Cyprus. After receiving his law degree and acquiring eight years of experience in the civil side of American law, he moved to the Mediterranean and shifted his focus from being an attorney to his first love: content writing. Joseph prioritizes not only honest accuracy, but also providing an informative and interesting perspective on whatever he puts his name to.

People also read

Write Review on CRI Genetics

Full Transparency Guarantee: We take pride in being one of the only comparison websites where users can freely share and contribute their personal reviews on DNA and genealogy-related products in a safe community. Some of our content does contain links to products from one or more of our partners. We may receive compensation when you click on one of these links.