Everlywell-Test 2020 - Hol Dir Tests und Therapien für sensible Krankheiten

Unsere Wertung:
7
Wertung der Nutzer:
7

Expertenmeinung:

Everlywell testet nicht einfach nur Deine DNA, um festzustellen, ob Du eine Veranlagung für Erbkrankheiten hast. Wenn Du allerdings schon weißt, dass Du möglicherweise zu einer bestimmten Risikogruppe gehörst, kannst Du mit einem der Tests von Everlywell für Zuhause auf Nummer sicher gehen.
Verfasst von Adam Warner
Zuletzt aktualisiert am 2. Juli 2020
  • Gesundheit & Wellness
Zuletzt am 2. Juli 2020 von Adam Warner aktualisiert
  • Gesundheit & Wellness

Sensible Gesundheitstests zu Hause durchführen

Everlywell Review

Everlywell hat das Angebot an Gesundheitstests für zu Hause seit 2015 stetig erweitert. Im Wesentlichen können Dir diese Leistungen die Zeit und das Geld dafür ersparen, für sensible Diagnosetests etwa in den Bereichen Sexualgesundheit und Fruchtbarkeit einen Arzt aufsuchen zu müssen.

Laut Everlywell sind die Selbsttests genauso exakt wie bei klinisch entnommenen Proben. Die Ergebnisse werden von mehreren Seiten geprüft und genehmigt, doch Deine Privatsphäre ist während der gesamten Zeit gewährleistet.

Einen Test von Everlywell solltest Du in Erwägung ziehen, wenn Du unter Schlafstörungen leidest, Dich der Menopause näherst, bestimmte Lebensmittel nicht verträgst oder befürchtest, dass Du Dich vielleicht mit einer Geschlechtskrankheit angesteckt hast.

Sehen wir uns nun die Funktionen, die Preise und das Kundenerlebnis an, um herauszufinden, ob einer dieser Tests für Dich der richtige sein könnte.

Die Art der Probe richtet sich nach dem Test

Everlywell bietet Dutzende verschiedener Tests an, aber der Prozess ist im Großen und Ganzen immer der gleiche:

  1. Bestelle online und nimm Dein Testpaket in Empfang
  2. Registriere Deinen Test und erstelle ein Konto
  3. Nimm Deine Probe
  4. Sende Deine Probe als vorfrankierte Rücksendung ein
  5. Warte auf Deine ärztlich geprüften Ergebnisse

Everlywell Review

Im Gegensatz zu DNA-Tests, bei denen eine Speichelprobe oder ein Wangenabstrich einzusenden ist, musst Du für einige der Diagnosetests von Everlywell eine Blut- bzw. Urinprobe einsenden oder einen Vaginalabstrich vornehmen. Einige dieser Methoden der Probenentnahme sind möglicherweise etwas unangenehm, was den einen oder anderen abschrecken könnte.

Zum Zeitpunkt der Abfassung dieses Beitrags sind die Tests nur in den USA erhältlich (jedoch nicht in New Jersey, Rhode Island und New York).

Hier geht’s zu den Everlywell Angeboten

5 herausragende Funktionen von Everlywell

1. Der richtige Test ist schnell gefunden

Everlywell unterscheidet sich von seinen Konkurrenten schon durch die bloße Anzahl der angebotenen Tests. Dies könnte den einen oder anderen überfordern, doch das Unternehmen hilft Dir dabei, den für Deine Symptome relevanten Test mühelos zu finden. Auf jeder Produktseite werden die folgenden Fragen beantwortet: „Wer sollte diesen Test durchführen?“ und „Welche Orientierungshilfe bekomme ich zusammen mit meinen Ergebnissen?“

2. Neutrale Verpackung und anonyme Tests

Gesundheitsfragen sind privater und persönlicher Natur. Da hört man es gerne, dass Everlywell die Test-Kits neutral verpackt und die Ergebnisse anonymisiert sind (was bedeutet, dass auch das Labor nicht weiß, wer Du bist). Zu beachten ist allerdings, dass einige Krankheiten im Interesse des öffentlichen Gesundheitsbewusstseins an staatliche Stellen gemeldet werden müssen.

3. Einmalzahlung oder ermäßigte Abos

Die Tests können gegen Einmalzahlung gekauft werden. Du kannst aber auch ein ermäßigtes Monats-, Vierteljahres- oder Halbjahresabo abschließen. Ein Abonnement eignet sich besonders zur Überwachung von Dingen, die sich im Laufe der Zeit verändern können, etwa Hormone.

4. Wird möglicherweise von der Versicherung bezahlt

Everlywell ist (bisher) der einzige mir bekannte Anbieter von Gesundheitstests, der möglicherweise von der Versicherung bezahlt wird, wenn Du Den Kauf Deines Test-Kits zur Rückerstattung über Dein HSA/FSA-Konto einreichst.

5. Medizinische Fachkräfte stehen zur Verfügung

Die Testergebnisse enthalten Empfehlungen von medizinischen Fachkräften. Wenn Du auf bestimmte Krankheiten positiv getestet wirst, bringt man Dich mit einem unabhängigen Arzt zusammen. Der kann Dir die nächsten Schritte empfehlen und möglicherweise sogar Antibiotika verschreiben.

Hier geht’s zu den Everlywell Angeboten

:Schnelle Ergebnisse aus einem CLIA-zertifizierten Labor

Die Ergebnisse der Diagnosetests von Everlywell könnten zeitkritisch sein. Glücklicherweise bekommst Du Deine Ergebnisse per E-Mail voraussichtlich innerhalb weniger Tage, nachdem Du Deine Probe an das CLIA-zertifizierte klinische Labor gesandt hast Die Ergebnisse fallen je nach Test unterschiedlich aus, aber mit Folgendem kannst Du rechnen:

  • Eine Beschreibung des/der getesteten Marker(s) und des „Normalbereichs“
  • Leicht lesbare Ergebnisse
  • (gegebenenfalls) Empfehlungen für die nächsten Schritte
  • Zusätzliche Quellen für weitere Nachforschungen
  • Kontaktdaten des klinischen Kundendienstes
  • Eine PDF-Datei zum Herunterladbares und Weitergeben

Hier ein Beispiel:

Everlywell Review

Sehen wir uns nun die spezifischen Marker an, die von Everlywell getestet werden und Gegenstand der Berichte sind.

Hier geht’s zu den Everlywell Angeboten

Tests des allgemeinen Wohlbefindens

Diese Tests sollen Dir helfen, gesund zu bleiben. Viele von ihnen enthalten Empfehlungen zur Änderung Deiner Lebensweise, Deiner Ernährung oder Deiner Vitaminzufuhr. Es handelt sich um die folgenden Tests:

  • Lebensmittelunverträglichkeitstest: Misst die IgG-Immunreaktion auf 96 Lebensmittel
  • Umfassender Lebensmittelunverträglichkeitstest: Misst die IgG-Immunreaktion auf 204 Lebensmittel
  • Herzgesundheitstest: Misst Gesamtcholesterin, HDL, direktes LDL, Triglyceride, hs-CRP und HbA1c
  • Cholesterin- und Lipid-Test: Misst Gesatcholesterin, HDL, direktes LDL und Triglyceride
  • HbA1c Test: Misst den Blutzuckerspiegel
  • Lyme-Borreliose-Test: Misst die IgG- und IgM-Immunreaktion auf drei Borreliose-Bakterien
  • Folsäure-Test: Misst das Folat (Vitamin B9/Folsäure)
  • Vitamin-B-Test: Misst den Vitamin-B6, -B9 und -B12-Spiegel
  • Schwermetalltest: Misst den Gehalt verschiedener Schwermetalle und Mineralien aus der Umwelt (Arsen, Quecksilber, Kadmium, Brom, Selen, Jod und Urin-Kreatinin)
  • Schlaf- und Stresstest: Misst kritische Schlaf- und Stresshormone (Cortisol, Cortison, Melatonin und Kreatinin)

Für alle Tests ist eine durch Stich in den Finger gewonnene Blutprobe erforderlich – mit Ausnahme des Schwermetalltests und des Schlaf- und Stresstests. Für die benötigt an eine Urinprobe.

Energie- und Gewichtstests

Diese Tests können angezeigt sein, wenn Du Dich lethargisch fühlst, Schlafprobleme hast oder unerwartet zu- bzw. abnimmst. Du kannst damit das zugrunde liegende Problem identifizieren und Dir Empfehlungen geben lassen, wie Du wieder zur Normalität zurückfindest. Es handelt sich um die folgenden Tests:

  • Schilddrüsentest: Misst die wichtigsten Schilddrüsenhormone (TSH, T3 und T4) sowie Schilddrüsenantikörper
  • Stoffwechseltest: Misst Hormone, die Gewicht und Energie beeinflussen können (Cortisol, freies Testosteron und die Schilddrüse stimulierende Hormone)
  • Vitamin-D-Test und Entzündungstest: Misst die aktuellen Werte von Vitamin D und hochempfindlichem C-reaktivem Protein
  • Vitamin-D-Test: Misst Deinen aktuellen Vitamin-D-Spiegel

Für alle Tests ist eine Blutprobe erforderlich, für den Stoffwechseltest außerdem eine Speichelprobe.

Gesundheitstests für Männer

Es gibt zwei speziell für Männer bestimmte Gesundheitstests, mit deren Hilfe Du Erkenntnisse über Deinen Hormonspiegel gewinnst und Deine Lebensweise ändern kannst, wenn Du Muskelmasse zulegen oder nachts besser schlafen willst.

  • Testosterontest: Misst den Gehalt an freiem Testosteron
  • Hormontest für Männer: Misst die Werte von Cortisol, DHEA, Estradiol und freiem Testosteron

Für beide Tests ist eine Urinprobe erforderlich.

Gesundheitstests für Frauen

Die Gesundheitstests für Frauen vermitteln Erkenntnisse, die in verschiedenen Lebensphasen wichtig sein können, etwa wenn Du eine Familie gründen willst oder Alterserscheinungen feststellst. Es dürfte für Dich angenehmer sein, diese heiklen Tests zu Hause durchzuführen und dafür keinen Arzt aufzusuchen:

  • HPV-Test: Misst 14 Genotypen von Hochrisiko-Formen des humanen Papillomavirus (HPV)
  • Perimenopausetest: Misst Hormone, die sich in der Perimenopause verändern (Estradiol, luteinisierendes Hormon und follikelstimulierendes Hormon)
  • Postmenopausetest: Misst die wichtigsten weiblichen Geschlechtshormone (Estradiol und Progesteron)
  • Fruchtbarkeitstest für Frauen: Misst Hormone, welche die Funktion der Eierstöcke regulieren (Estradiol, luteinisierendes Hormon, follikelstimulierendes Hormon, Gesamttestosteron und schilddrüsenstimulierendes Hormon)
  • Gesundheitstest für Frauen: Misst die Werte von zehn wichtigen weiblichen Hormonen (die beim Fruchtbarkeitstest für Frauen angegebenen sowie Progesteron, DHEAS, Cortisol, freies T3, freies T4 und Schilddrüsenperoxidase-Antikörper)
  • Ovarialreservetest: Misst den FSH-Spiegel (die Werte des für das Wachstum und die Reifung der Follikel verantwortlichen Hormons)

Perimenopause-, Fruchtbarkeits- und Ovarialreservetest erfordern Blutproben. Der Gesundheitstest für Frauen erfordert Blut- und Speichelproben. Für den HPV-Test ist ein Vaginalabstrich erforderlich; für den Postmenopausetest eine Speichelprobe.

Sexualgesundheitstest

Wenn Du sexuell aktiv ist, solltest Du Dich regelmäßig auf Geschlechtskrankheiten testen lassen. Fällt Dein Test positiv aus, kannst Du ohne Zusatzkosten mit einem in Deinem (amerikanischen) Bundesstaat zugelassenen Arzt sprechen. Möglicherweise bekommst Du sogar ein Rezept.

  • Geschlechtskrankheitentest für Männer: Testet auf die häufigsten Geschlechtskrankheiten (Chlamydien, Gonorrhoe, Hepatitis C, Herpes Typ 2, HIV, Syphilis und Trichomoniasis)
  • Geschlechtskrankheitentest für Frauen: Testet auf die häufigsten Geschlechtskrankheiten (Chlamydien, Gonorrhoe, Hepatitis C, Herpes Typ 2, HIV, Syphilis und Trichomoniasis)
  • Chlamydien- und Gonorrhoetest: Testet auf das Vorliegen einer Chlamydien- oder Gonorrhoe-Infektion
  • Hepatitis-C-Test: Testet auf Exposition gegenüber dem Hepatitis-C-Virus
  • HIV-Test: Testet auf Exposition gegenüber HIV
  • Syphilistest: Testet auf Exposition gegenüber Syphilisbakterien
  • Trichomoniasistest: Testet auf das Vorliegen einer Trichomoniasis

Hepatitis-C-, HIV- und Syphilistest erfordern eine Blutprobe. Der Chlamydien- und Gonorrhoetest erfordert ebenso wie der Trichomoniasistest eine Urinprobe. Für den Geschlechtskrankheitentest für Männer benötigt man eine Blutprobe und eine Urinprobe. Der Geschlechtskrankheitentest für Frauen erfordert einen Bluttest und einen Vaginalabstrich.

Hier geht’s zu den Everlywell Angeboten

Wird möglicherweise von der Versicherung bezahlt, und Du kannst mit einem Abo Geld sparen

Bedenkt man, wie viele Tests Everlywell anbietet, ist es keine Überraschung, dass die Preisspanne ziemlich groß ist. Die meisten Tests gibt es für deutlich unter 100 Dollar. Einige der umfassenderen Tests – wie die Gesundheitstests für Männer und Frauen, die Tests auf Geschlechtskrankheiten für Männer und Frauen und die Tests auf Lebensmittelunverträglichkeit – kosten Dich allerdings ein paar hundert Dollar.

Da Everlywell Zahlungen aus Gesundheitssparkonten (Health Saving Accounts, HSA) und flexiblen Ausgabenkonten (Flexible Spending Accounts, FSA) akzeptiert, könnte es von Deinem aktuellen Versicherungsschutz abhängen, ob die Tests kostengünstig sind. Sie kosten möglicherweise weniger als ein Arztbesuch und ersparen Dir vor allem die mit der Wahrnehmung eines Termins verbundenen Unannehmlichkeiten.

Jeden Test kannst Du per Einmalkauf erwerben oder mit einem Monats-, Vierteljahres- und Halbjahresabo Geld sparen. Da die Tests nur in den USA gekauft werden können, müssen alle Zahlungen in US-Dollar über PayPal oder Kreditkarte vorgenommen werden.

Gesundheit & Wellness
Heart Health Test

Meine Erfahrungen mit dem Kundendienst gaben mir keinen Anlass zur Beschwerde

Alle Fragen. die Du Dir stellen dürftest, werden auf der Website von Everlywell beantwortet. Jede Produktseite enthält häufig gestellte Fragen. Außerdem gibt es eine allgemeine (durchsuchbare) Hilfeseite.

Wenn trotzdem noch Fragen offen sind, kannst Du mit dem Unternehmen per E-Mail oder über ein Online-Formular Kontakt aufnehmen (was ich getan habe):

Everlywell Review

Der Kundenbetreuer brauchte nur eine Stunde zur Beantwortung meiner Frage, ob es sich lohnen würde, nach einem DNA-Test auch noch den Vitamin-B-Test von Everlywell durchzuführen, um etwas über Vitaminmängel zu erfahren. Die Antwort lautete „ja“, denn die Tests von Everlywell bestimmen Deinen tatsächlichen Vitaminspiegel, während ein DNA-Test Dir nur sagen kann, ob Du für einen Mangel veranlagt bist.

Insgesamt hätte ich mir keinen besseren Kundenservice wünschen können.

Du musst Dir nicht freinehmen – führe einen Test zuhause durch

Die Tests von Everlywell Tests unterscheiden sich von jenen, die von reinen DNA-Testunternehmen wie etwa 23andMe und AncestryDNA, angeboten werden, denn einige Tests erfordern eine Blutprobe zur Gewinnung zusätzlicher gesundheitlicher Erkenntnisse, die sich aus der DNA allein nicht ableiten lassen. Ein Unterschied besteht auch darin, dass es nur ein paar Tage statt einiger Wochen dauert, bis Deine Probe analysiert ist und Dir Deine Ergebnisse zugesandt werden. Das ist deshalb wichtig, weil Du von diesem Unternehmen möglicherweise erfährst, dass Du an einer Geschlechtskrankheit oder an einer ähnlichen akuten Krankheit leidest, die behandelt werden muss.

Meiner Meinung nach sind Selbsttests wie die von Everlywell angebotenen die Zukunft des Gesundheitswesens. Es erübrigt sich, einen Arzttermin zu vereinbaren, sich freizunehmen, eine Kinderbetreuung zu organisieren und sich durch den Verkehr zu kämpfen, wenn man einen Test ganz bequem in den eigenen vier Wänden durchführen kann.

Fachleute stehen zur Verfügung, um gegebenenfalls Verhaltensregeln vorzugeben oder Antibiotika zu verschreiben. Das Support-Team beantwortet Deine allgemeineren Fragen zu den Produkten und zum Prozess.

Wenn Du gesund bleiben willst, solltest Du vielleicht zu Everlywell greifen.

Hier geht’s zu den Everlywell Angeboten

Adam Warner
Adam Warner
Adam is a professional writer who specializes in all things technology. From the latest online trends to advancements in medical sciences, Adam has spent time covering a plethora of topics that he finds interesting. In his free time, he enjoys traveling and reading science fiction novels.

Andere lasen auch

Review zu Everlywell schreiben

Volle Transparenz garantiert: Wir sind stolz darauf, zu den wenigen Vergleichswebseiten zu gehören, auf denen Benutzer auf sichere Art und Weise ihre eigenen Bewertungen zu DNA- und Gentest-Produkten eintragen und teilen können. Einige unserer Inhalte enthalten Links zu Produkten eines oder mehrerer unserer Partner. Wenn Sie auf einen dieser Links klicken, erhalten wir unter Umständen eine Vergütung.

Everlywell Review 2020 - Get Tests and Treatment for Sensitive Conditions

Our score:
7
User score:
7

Expert opinion:

Everlywell doesn’t simply test your DNA to see if you’re predisposed to genetic diseases. However, if you already know that you could be at-risk for something, taking one of Everlywell’s at-home tests can help you find out for sure.
Written by Adam Warner
Last updated on August 14, 2020
  • Health & Wellness
Written by Adam Warner on August 14, 2020
  • Health & Wellness

Take Sensitive Health Tests at Home

Everlywell Review

Everlywell has been steadily growing its at-home health testing services since 2015. Essentially, these services could save you the time and money of having to visit a doctor for sensitive diagnostic tests in areas such as sexual health and fertility.

According to Everlywell, the self-service tests are just as accurate as clinically-collected samples, and the results are reviewed and approved by several parties, yet your privacy is assured the entire time.

Consider taking an Everlywell test if you’re having trouble sleeping, approaching menopause, experiencing food sensitivities, or concerned that you might have contracted a sexually transmitted disease.

Now let’s look at the features, prices, and customer experience, to see if one of these tests could be right for you.

The Sample Type Depends on the Test

Although Everlywell offers dozens of different tests, the overall process is the same:

  1. Order online and receive your test package
  2. Register your test and create account
  3. Prepare your sample
  4. Send back your sample with prepaid return shipping
  5. Wait for your physician-reviewed results

Everlywell Review

Unlike DNA tests that require you to submit a saliva sample or a cheek swab, some of Everlywell’s diagnostic tests require you to submit a blood or urine sample, or to take a vaginal swab. Some of these sample collection methods can be slightly uncomfortable, which could put off some people.

At the time of this review, the tests are only available in the US (excluding New Jersey, Rhode Island, and New York).

See Everlywell Deals

5 Standout Features of Everlywell

1. Easy to Find the Right Test(s) for You

One of the things that set Everlywell apart from its competitors is the sheer number of tests it offers. Although this could be overwhelming, the company does a good job of helping you find the right test that’s relevant to your symptoms. Each product page answers the questions, “Who should take this test?” and “What guidance will I get with my results?”

2. Plain Packaging and Anonymous Testing

Since health matters are private and personal, you’ll be pleased to hear that Everlywell’s test kits come in plain packaging and the results are anonymous (which means even the lab doesn’t know who you are). Note, however, that some diseases must be reported to state agencies for public health awareness.

3. One-Time Fees or Discounted Subscriptions

Tests can be bought for a one-time fee, or you can sign up for a discounted subscription on monthly, quarterly, or semi-annual terms. The subscription option is particularly appropriate for monitoring something that can change over time, such as hormones.

4. Could Be Covered by Insurance

Everlywell is the only health testing company I’ve seen (to date) that could be covered by insurance if you submit your test kit purchase for reimbursement through your HSA/FSA account.

5. Healthcare Professionals Are Available  

Test results include recommendations from healthcare professionals. If you test positive for certain conditions, you’ll be connected with an independent physician who can recommend next steps or potentially even prescribe a course of antibiotics.

See Everlywell Deals

Rapid Results from a CLIA-Certified Lab

The results of Everlywell’s diagnostic tests could be time-sensitive. Thankfully, you can expect to receive your results by email within a couple of days of sending in your sample to the CLIA-approved clinical lab. Results will differ according to the test, but you can expect to see:

  • A description of the marker(s) tested and the “normal range”
  • Easy-to-read results
  • Recommendations for next steps (as appropriate)
  • Additional resources for further research
  • Contact details for the clinical support team
  • A downloadable and shareable PDF

Here’s an example:

Everlywell Review

Now let’s look at the specific markers that are tested and reported on for Everlywell’s tests.

See Everlywell Deals

General Wellness Tests

These tests are designed to help you stay healthy, and many of them include recommendations for changing your lifestyle, diet, or vitamin intake. The tests are:

  • Food Sensitivity Test: Measures IgG reactivity to 96 foods
  • Food Sensitivity Comprehensive Test: Measures IgG reactivity to 204 foods
  • Heart Health Test: Measures total cholesterol, HDL, direct LDL, triglycerides, hs-CRP, and HbA1c
  • Cholesterol and Lipids Test: Measures total cholesterol, HDL, direct LDL, and triglycerides
  • HbA1c Test: Measures hemoglobin sugar levels
  • Lyme Disease Test: Measures IgG and IgM reactivity to three Lyme disease bacteria
  • Folic Acid Test: Measures folate (vitamin B9/folic acid)
  • B Vitamins Test: Measures vitamin B6, B9, and B12 levels
  • Heavy Metals Test: Measures levels of several environmental heavy metals and minerals (arsenic, mercury, cadmium, bromine, selenium, iodine, and urinary creatinine)
  • Sleep and Stress Test: Measures critical sleep and stress hormones (cortisol, cortisone, melatonin, and creatinine)

All of the tests require a finger-prick blood sample, except the Heavy Metals Test and the Sleep and Stress Test, both of which require a urine sample.

Energy + Weight Tests

These tests may be appropriate if you’re feeling lethargic, having trouble sleeping, or experiencing unexpected weight gain or loss. Use them to identify the underlying problem and receive recommendations to get you back to normal. The tests are:

  • Thyroid Test: Measures main thyroid hormones (TSH, T3, and T4) plus thyroid antibodies
  • Metabolism Test: Measures hormones that can influence weight and energy (cortisol, free testosterone, and thyroid-stimulating hormone)
  • Vitamin D and Inflammation Test: Measures current levels of vitamin D and high sensitivity C-reactive protein
  • Vitamin D Test: Measures your current vitamin D levels

All tests require a blood sample, and the Metabolism Test also requires a saliva sample.

Men’s Health Tests

There are two health tests aimed specifically at men, to help you understand your hormone levels and make lifestyle changes to gain muscle mass or get a good night’s sleep.

  • Testosterone Test: Measures levels of free testosterone
  • Men’s Hormone Test: Measures levels of cortisol, DHEA, estradiol, and free testosterone

Both tests require a urine sample.

Women’s Health Tests

The women’s health tests offer insights that may be important at various life stages, such as if you want to start a family or you see signs of aging. You may be more comfortable taking these sensitive tests at home rather than visiting a doctor:

  • HPV Test: Measures 14 high-risk human papillomavirus (HPV) genotypes
  • Perimenopause Test: Measures hormones that change with perimenopause (estradiol, luteinizing hormone, and follicle-stimulating hormone)
  • Postmenopause Test: Measures the main female sex hormones (estradiol and progesterone)
  • Women’s Fertility Test: Measures hormones regulating ovarian function (estradiol, luteinizing hormone, follicle-stimulating hormone, total testosterone, and thyroid-stimulating hormone)
  • Women’s Health Test: Measures levels of ten key female hormones (those mentioned in the Women’s Fertility Test, plus progesterone, DHEAS, cortisol, free T3, free T4, and thyroid peroxidase antibodies)
  • Ovarian Reserve Test: Measures FSH levels (the hormone responsible for the growth and maturation of follicles)

The Perimenopause, Fertility, and Ovarian Reserve Tests require blood samples. The Women’s Health Test requires both blood and saliva. The HPV Test requires a vaginal swab, and the Postmenopause Test requires a saliva sample.

Sexual Health Tests

If you’re sexually active, it is important to get yourself tested for sexually transmitted diseases regularly. If you test positive, you can speak to a board-certified physician licensed in your US state at no extra cost. You may even be able to get a prescription.

  • Male STD Test: Tests for the most common STDs (chlamydia, gonorrhea, hepatitis C, herpes type 2, HIV, syphilis, and trichomoniasis)
  • Female STD Test: Tests for the most common STDs (chlamydia, gonorrhea, hepatitis C, herpes type 2, HIV, syphilis, and trichomoniasis)
  • Chlamydia and Gonorrhea Test: Tests for the presence of chlamydia or gonorrhea infection
  • Hepatitis C Test: Tests for exposure to hepatitis C virus
  • HIV Test: Tests for exposure to HIV
  • Syphilis Test: Tests for exposure to syphilis bacteria
  • Trichomoniasis Test: Tests for the presence of trichomoniasis

The Hepatitis C, HIV, and Syphilis Tests all require a blood sample. The Chlamydia and Gonorrhea Test, and the Trichomoniasis Test, both require a urine sample. The Male STD Test requires a blood sample and a urine sample. The Female STD Test requires a blood test and a vaginal swab.

See Everlywell Deals

Could Be Covered by Insurance, and You Can Save with a Subscription

Given the number of tests Everlywell offers, it should come as no surprise that there is a pretty big price range. The majority of tests can be taken for well under $100. However, some of the more comprehensive tests – like the Men’s and Women’s Health Tests, Men’s and Women’s STD Tests, and Food Sensitivity Tests – will run you a couple hundred dollars.

Since Everlywell accepts HSA/FSA payments, whether the tests provide good value could depend on your current insurance coverage. They could cost less than a visit to the doctor, especially when you factor in the inconvenience of having to attend an appointment.

For any test, you can make a one-time purchase or save money with a subscription on a monthly, quarterly, or semi-annual basis. Since you can only purchase tests in the US, all payments must be made in US dollars via PayPal or credit card.

Health & Wellness
Heart Health Test

I Can’t Complain About the Customer Service Experience

Everlywell’s website does a good job of answering any questions you’re likely to have. Every product page includes a specific set of frequently asked questions, and there is also a general (searchable) help page.

If you still have questions, you can contact the company by sending an email or submitting an online form (which is what I did):

Everlywell Review

The customer support agent took only an hour to answer my question about whether it would be worth taking Everlywell’s B vitamins test after having already taken a DNA test to learn about vitamin deficiencies. The answer was “yes” because Everlywell’s tests look at your actual vitamin levels whereas a DNA test can only tell you if you’re predisposed to being deficient. Overall, I couldn’t have asked for a better customer service experience.

Don’t Take Time Off Work, Take a Test at Home

Everlywell’s tests are different from those provided by pure DNA testing companies such as 23andMe and AncestryDNA because some of the tests require a blood sample for additional health insights that can’t be deduced from DNA alone. It’s also different in taking only a few days rather than a few weeks to analyze your sample and send your results, which is important because this company could be telling you that you have a sexually transmitted disease or similar urgent condition that needs treatment.

In my opinion, self-testing services such as those provided by Everlywell are the future of healthcare. There’s no need to schedule a doctor’s appointment, take time off work, arrange childcare, and fight traffic, when you can take a test in the comfort of your own home. Professionals are on hand to prescribe a course of action or a course of antibiotics, as appropriate, and the support team can help you answer your more general questions about the products and process.

If you want to stay well, maybe you should choose Everlywell.

See Everlywell Deals

FAQ

Are Everlywell tests accurate?

A test with Everlywell is just as accurate as a test you would take at the doctor’s office. Everlywell partners with CLIA-certified labs across the country, many of which conduct specialty testing. This means that your Everlywell sample could be analyzed at the very same lab that your physician would normally use anyway.

How long does it take to receive results from an Everlywell test?

Everlywell promises that all purchases will be shipped out within one business day of placing your order, and and will arrive to you within 3-5 business days. After you send your sample back to the lab, your results should be available online within 5 business days. However, keep in mind that Everlywell offers a large variety of tests – from hormone levels to vitamin deficiencies – and result times can vary. No matter which test you ordered, the turnaround is pretty fast.

Is Everlywell covered by insurance?

Your Everlywell test could be covered by insurance. It is one of few that accepts HSA/FSA payments. However, it is always best to check with your provider before making a purchase, as your insurance may require that your physician place the order.

How does Everlywell protect customers’ privacy?

Due to the sensitive nature of some of Everlywell’s tests, privacy and confidentiality are extremely important. When you place an order, your test kit will come in plain packaging. All lab testing is anonymous, which means your name is not seen by anyone running or analyzing results. Keep in mind that you do need to use your real name when you place an order, but your results will never be shared with anyone unless you make that decision. All customer data is encrypted and stored on a HIPAA-compliant platform.

What are the best alternatives to Everlywell?

As opposed to testing your genetic predisposition to certain health conditions, Everlywell analyzes your actual, current levels. LetsGetChecked offers many similar tests at comparable price points. Keep in mind that knowing your genetic predisposition can also be really helpful, allowing you to address potential or likely health issues before they actually become a problem. 23andMe and Vitagene are good options, in this regard.

Adam Warner
Adam Warner
Adam is a professional writer who specializes in all things technology. From the latest online trends to advancements in medical sciences, Adam has spent time covering a plethora of topics that he finds interesting. In his free time, he enjoys traveling and reading science fiction novels.

People also read

Everlywell User Reviews

No user review found. Be the first Everlywell's reviewer!

Write Review

Write Review on Everlywell

Full Transparency Guarantee: We take pride in being one of the only comparison websites where users can freely share and contribute their personal reviews on DNA and genealogy-related products in a safe community. Some of our content does contain links to products from one or more of our partners. We may receive compensation when you click on one of these links.