专业测评
联盟营销分佣
测评守则
专业测评
联盟营销分佣
测评守则

2021年Findmypast测评:它能知道我家的历史吗?

我们的评分:
8.7
用户评分:
8.7

专家意见:

如果您想探寻您的英国/爱尔兰血统,那么您应考虑使用Findmypast进行DNA测试。这家服务商不仅拥有这些国家/地区的最大的记录数据库,而且您可以在升级后检测Y-DNA和mtDNA来追踪您的父系和母系血统。价格相对获得的服务来说非常高,因此您可能可以考虑从其他服务商处获得原始数据,然后再上传到这里,这样可以节省一些钱。
由Eric Michelson撰写
上次更新时间:2020年10月19日
  • 祖先血统
由Eric Michelson于2020年10月19日撰写
  • 祖先血统

关于测试英国和爱尔兰血统的自信宣传

Findmypast Review

Findmypast在2016年与Living DNA合作,提供三种DNA检测:常染色体检测(一般用于检测您的基因),以及额外收费检测Y-DNA(用于追踪您的父系血统,但仅在您是男性的情况下适用)和mtDNA(追踪您的母系血统)。

该公司声称提供世界上最先进的DNA测试之一“能够提供相当于其他祖源DNA测试的两倍信息”。在公司所覆盖的80个全球区域中,有20+多个地区位于英国和爱尔兰

这家公司真的优于行业领头羊AncestryDNA23andMe吗,特别是如果您想了解自己的英国或爱尔兰血统? 我们来看看。

简单的脸颊拭子和寄回邮费预付

简单的四步测试过程包括在线订购、激活套餐、寄出脸颊拭子样本,然后在六到八周内查看结果:

Findmypast Review

购买者需注意!我明白不需要用试管收集唾液或刺破手指获取血样很好,但 鼓励您在收到试剂盒后立即激活Findmypast 14天免费试用 。当然,您可能想看历史档案,但是请记住,您可能需要长达两个月的时间才能获得测试结果。不如听我的建议,先等待您的结果出来,然后再开始试用和(最终)购买月度订阅。

做DNA测试可能会令人上瘾(对于某些人而言),因此您可能已经从其他服务商处获得了原始DNA数据 ,例如AncestryDNAMyHeritage。您可以在这里免费上传数据,然后获得Findmypast的解读。

查看Findmypast的优惠活动

Findmypast的5大杰出功能

1. 英国/爱尔兰亚区域DNA测试

Findmypast的测试合作伙伴(Living DNA)提供常染色体遗传学测试,可对不列颠群岛的21个亚区域进行详细分析,据称这优于其他所有的DNA测试服务。

2. mtDNA/Y-DNA检测

“深度祖源升级计划”增加了mtDNA和Y-DNA测试,以便您追踪母系(母亲一方)和父系(父亲一方)的家系。并非所有的测试公司都提供这一功能,这意味着您通过Findmypast可以获得在其他公司无法获取的有关先祖在全球范围内迁徙的信息。

注意,Y-DNA测试仅适用于具有Y染色体的人(即男性)。

3. 免费的家谱服务和家谱生成器

您无需购买订阅即可开始使用Findmypast构建您的家谱。您还可以免费搜索数百万条记录——包括美国人口普查数据、美国和加拿大的出生/婚姻/死亡以及爱尔兰罗马天主教教区的记录。话虽如此,购买订阅可以访问更多数据和使用其他更多功能,如共同的祖先。

4. 英国和爱尔兰的历史档案

Findmypast的数据库所包含的英国和爱尔兰历史档案比其他任何家谱或遗传测试的网站都多。这些档案可以追溯到美国独立战争甚至数字黑暗时代,包括报纸、移民记录、法院记录、军事报告和工作合同。

5. 1939年户籍册

1939年的名册详细记录了第二次世界大战前英格兰和威尔士41万人居住的精确位置。您可以看到手写户籍簿的原件、交互式邻里地图、家庭成员列表,可能会找到失散多年的亲属。

查看Findmypast的优惠活动

在6-8周内将Living DNA的结果连接到Findmypast

在六到八周内,合作伙伴Living DNA(不是Findmypast)将生成您的DNA检测结果,因此第一步需要在Living DNA的网站上将两个站点连接起来。这将帮助您搜寻可能的亲属:

Findmypast review

祖源

您将获得一份详细的地图以及您的祖源所在地的亚区域分析。如果您订购了“深度祖源升级”,您将在同一台个人服务器中收到这些结果以及常规的祖源结果。

Living DNA的结果包括祖源的详细地图和饼状图,其中包括80个世界地区以及对您的英国和爱尔兰血统的亚区域分析。

Findmypast review

如果您升级到包括Y-DNA和mtDNA测试的计划,您还将获得对父亲的单倍群(如果您是男性)和母亲的单倍群的分析。

Findmypast review

免费的家谱服务和家谱生成器

与一些家谱公司不同,您无需购买订阅即可建立并在Findmypast的家谱中添加条目。程序甚至会“提示”谁可能是您的家谱中的成员。

Findmypast review

您还可以搜索数百万条记录,包括1790-1940年的美国人口普查数据、美国和加拿大的公共BMD(出生、结婚和死亡)记录,以及超过7百万条爱尔兰罗马天主教教区的记录。尽管这是免费的,但是如果您购买订阅,就可以访问更多数据和其他功能。

我还应该再提一下“1939年户籍册”,其中包括原始的手写档案、交互式邻里地图以及第二次世界大战前夕的家庭成员名单。

Findmypast review

查看Findmypast的优惠活动

Living DNA做同样的DNA测试更便宜

对于同样的测试,Findmypast的费用要高于Living DNA。尽管您可以通过为期两周的免费试用期自动进入Findmypast系统, 但不要忘记Findmypast会鼓励您在真正需要之前开始试用

由于Living DNA和Findmypast之间没有对接,所以无法将匹配项添加到家谱中,因此您可能会疑惑为什么要通过Findmypast进行测试。实际上,通过Living DNA购买同样的测试更便宜,然后再注册Findmypast的付费会员

关于英国和爱尔兰血统的信息, Findmypast的订阅提供了更多功能“基础英国和爱尔兰”套餐为您提供英国和爱尔兰的移民记录,并允许您在其他用户的家谱中查找共同的祖先。“顶级英国和爱尔兰”套餐包含了更多历史档案(包括报纸、军事档案和遗嘱),并提供了有关如何进行家谱深度研究的大师级指南。

如果您愿意付费,那么顶级计划不需要花太多钱,就可以提供更多服务 。如果您不想付费,免费计划就可以在一定程度上满足您的好奇心 。另外, 您可以通过“按需付费”来购买单份记录,而不必订阅。

您还需要注意另一项费用:尽管您为提交样品预付了寄回邮资,但您仍必须为初始测试的试剂盒支付配送费

查看Findmypast的优惠活动

令人满意的响应速度和良好的自助资源

Findmypast在工作日的工作时间内提供电话和实时聊天支持,并且声明在工作日24小时内答复所有电子邮件。确实, 我提交的联系表单在24小时内收到了答复(只是让我转去Living DNA):

Findmypast Review

通过实时聊天渠道也很快收到了回复 ,尽管客服人员很难说服我花更多钱用Findmypast的DNA测试,而不是选择Living DNA:

Findmypast Review

在自助方面,一系列常见问题解答应该可以回答您的大多数问题,因此您可能根本不需要联系支持团队。

购买Living DNA会更好?

Findmypast的DNA测试与Living DNA的相同。Findmypast稍微麻烦一些,两个系统之间的对接并没有想象的那样流畅高效,尤其是您不能直接从Living DNA将匹配项添加到Findmypast中

我认为,除非您很想深入研究您的英国或爱尔兰血统(这正是Findmypast的亮点),否则您最好最好直接在Living DNA获取祖源结果。这样,您仍然可以获得不列颠群岛21个亚区域的详细分析。之后,您可以根据需要单独注册Findmypast。

查看Findmypast的优惠活动

Eric Michelson
Eric Michelson
Eric Michelson
Eric Michelson is a multi-disciplinary researcher, holding an Associate degree in Applied Science and a Bachelor's in Music. He has spent the past decade traveling, interacting with many of the diverse cultures around the world. He loves helping people tune into their roots, both physically or mentally, and he believes that exploring a family's unique history can uncover hidden opportunities for deep personal transformation.

其他人也阅读了

Findmypast用户评价

暂无用户评价,快来留下第一条Findmypast评价吧

发表评论

对Findmypast发表评论

Please enter your email address to submit your review

Findmypast Review 2020 - Best for British and Irish Heritage?

Our score:
8.7
User score:
8.7

Expert opinion:

If you want to explore your British/Irish ancestry, you should consider a DNA test with Findmypast. Not only does this vendor have the largest database of records available from these countries, but you can upgrade to test your Y-DNA and mtDNA to trace your paternal and maternal family lines. The price is pretty expensive for what you get, so you might want to consider uploading raw data that you get from another vendor to save some money.
Written by Eric Michelson
Last updated on August 14, 2020
  • Ancestry
Written by Eric Michelson on August 14, 2020
  • Ancestry

Bold Claims About Testing Your British and Irish Heritage

Findmypast Review

Findmypast partnered with Living DNA in 2016 to offer three kinds of DNA tests: autosomal (to test your genes in general), and – for an extra fee – Y-DNA (to trace your paternal line, but only if you’re male) and mtDNA (to trace your maternal line).

This company claims to offer one of the world’s most advanced DNA tests that allows it to “provide twice the level of detail of any other ancestry DNA test.” Of the 80 global regions it maps, 20+ are in Britain and Ireland.

Could this company really be better than market leaders AncestryDNA and 23andMe, especially if you want to discover your British or Irish backstory? Let’s take a look.

A Simple Cheek Swab, and Pre-Paid Return Postage

The simple four-step testing process involves ordering online, activating your kit, sending in your cheek swab sample, and viewing your results in six to eight weeks:

Findmypast Review

Buyer beware! I like that you don’t have to spit into a test tube or prick your finger for a blood sample, but I don’t like the encouragement to activate your Findmypast 14-day free trial as soon as you get your kit. Of course, you’ll want access to the historical records, but remember that it can take up to two months to get your test results. Take my advice and wait for your results before taking the trial and (ultimately) starting a monthly subscription.

Taking DNA tests can become addictive (for some of us), so you might already have raw DNA data from another service, such as AncestryDNA or MyHeritage. Upload those here to get Findmypast’s additional insights, for free.

See Findmypast Deals

5 Standout Features of Findmypast

1. British/Irish Sub-Regions DNA Test

The autosomal heritage test from Findmypast’s testing partner (Living DNA) provides a detailed analysis for 21 sub-regions in the British Isles, which – it claims – is way more than any other DNA testing service.

2. mtDNA/Y-DNA Testing

The “Deep Ancestry Upgrade” adds mtDNA and Y-DNA testing so that you can trace your maternal (mother’s side) and paternal (father’s side) lineages. Not all testing companies offer this, which means you won’t get as much information about how your ancestors moved around the world as you do with Findmypast.

Keep in mind that the Y-DNA test is only available to those who have Y chromosomes (i.e., men).

3. Free Genealogy Services and Family Tree Builder

You don’t have to purchase a subscription to start building your family tree with Findmypast. You can also search through millions of records – including U.S. census data, U.S. and Canadian births/marriages/deaths, and Irish Roman Catholic parish records – for free. That said, a subscription gives you access to a lot more data and extra features like common ancestors.

4. British and Irish Historical Records

Findmypast’s database contains more British and Irish historical records than any other genealogy or heritage testing site. Going back as far as the U.S. Revolutionary War and even the Dark Ages, these records include newspapers, immigration records, court records, military reports, and work contracts.

5. The 1939 Register

The 1939 register details the precise location that 41 million people in England and Wales were living just before the Second World War. You can see original handwritten registers, interactive neighborhood maps, lists of household members, and potentially discover long lost relatives.

See Findmypast Deals

Link the Living DNA Results to Findmypast in 6-8 Weeks

In six to eight weeks, your DNA results will come from partner provider Living DNA (rather than Findmypast), so the first step is to link the two sites together on Living DNA’s website. This will help you search for potential relatives:

Findmypast review

Ancestry

You’ll get a detailed map and sub-regional analysis of where your heritage is from. If you ordered the “Deep Ancestry Upgrade”, you’ll receive those results along with the regular ancestry results in the same personal server.

Living DNA’s results include a detailed map and a pie chart breakdown of your ancestry that includes 80 world regions and a sub-regional analysis of your UK and Irish heritage.

Findmypast review

If you upgraded to include the Y-DNA and the mtDNA tests, you’d also receive an analysis of your father’s haplogroup (if you’re male) and your mother’s haplogroup.

Findmypast review

Free Genealogy Services and Family Tree Builder

Unlike some genealogy companies, you don’t need to purchase a subscription to build and add entries into Findmypast’s family tree. The program even gives you “hints” as to who might be part of your family tree.

Findmypast review

You can also search through millions of records including US census data from 1790-1940, public BMD (birth, marriage, and death) records from the US and Canada, and over 7 million Irish Roman Catholic parish records. Although this is free of charge, a subscription gives you access to a lot more data and extra features.

I should also mention the “1939 Register” that includes original handwritten documents, interactive neighborhood maps, and lists of household members from the eve of WWII.

Findmypast review

See Findmypast Deals

Living DNA Costs Less for the Same DNA Test

Findmypast charges more than Living DNA for the exact same tests. Although you get onboarded automatically onto the Findmypast system with its free two-week trial, don’t forget that it encourages you to start the trial before you really need to.

Since there is no linkage between Living DNA and Findmypast that would allow you to add matches to your family tree, you might wonder why you should take the test through Findmypast. In fact, it’s actually cheaper to buy the same test through Living DNA then sign up for a Findmypast premium membership.

For British and Irish heritage information, Findmypast’s subscriptions are where the added value can be found. The “Essential British and Irish” package provides you with British and Irish migration records, and allows you to find common ancestors in other users’ family trees. The “Ultimate British and Irish” package adds access to extensive historical records (including newspapers, military records, and wills) and provides masterclass guides on how to do in-depth genealogical research.

If you’re willing to pay, the ultimate plan provides a lot more value for not much more money. If you don’t want to pay, you might be able to satisfy your more limited curiosity with the free plan. Alternatively, the “pay as you go credits” let you buy individual records without having to commit to a subscription.

One more cost to keep in mind: While your return postage is prepaid for submitting your sample, you’ll still have to pay a delivery fee for the initial test kit.

See Findmypast Deals

Satisfactory Response Times, and Decent Self-Support Resources

Findmypast provides phone and live chat support during working hours on weekdays, it also claims to answer all emails within 24 hours on business days. Indeed, my contact form submission received a response within 24 hours (if only to refer me to Living DNA):

Findmypast Review

I also received rapid responses via the live chat channel, although the agent had trouble convincing me why I should pay more for Findmypast’s DNA test rather than Living DNA’s:

Findmypast Review

For self-support, a decent set of FAQs should answer most of your questions, so you probably won’t need to contact the support team at all.

Better Off Buying Living DNA Instead?

Findmypast’s DNA tests are no different from Living DNA’s. For the extra cost of going through Findmypast, the linkage between the two systems isn’t as smooth or effective as I would like, especially since you can’t add matches into Findmypast directly from Living DNA.

In my opinion, unless you’re specifically interested in delving deep into your British or Irish heritage for a genealogy project (which is where Findmypast shines), you’d be better off going directly to Living DNA for ancestry results. By doing so, you’ll still get a detailed analysis for 21 sub-regions in the British Isles. After that, you can sign up to Findmypast separately, if you want.

See Findmypast Deals

Eric Michelson
Eric Michelson
Eric Michelson
Eric Michelson is a multi-disciplinary researcher, holding an Associate degree in Applied Science and a Bachelor's in Music. He has spent the past decade traveling, interacting with many of the diverse cultures around the world. He loves helping people tune into their roots, both physically or mentally, and he believes that exploring a family's unique history can uncover hidden opportunities for deep personal transformation.

People also read

Findmypast User Reviews

No user review found. Be the first Findmypast's reviewer!

Write Review

Write Review on Findmypast

Full Transparency Guarantee: We take pride in being one of the only comparison websites where users can freely share and contribute their personal reviews on DNA and genealogy-related products in a safe community. Some of our content does contain links to products from one or more of our partners. We may receive compensation when you click on one of these links.